Tips

How to get rid of ‘Check your passwords’ popup on Chrome

Google rolled out a password checker tool towards the second half of 2019 that examines the credentials of its users and reveals whether an individual’s password has been exposed in a known data breach. Google will be able to detect whether a password has been previously used when logging in to a site in real-time. A pop-up will then notify the user that their credentials were left exposed and you might want to change them.

However, these warnings might pop up every now and then in case you decide not to change your password. Fortunately, you can disable the password checker prompt on Google Chrome with the help of the guide given below.

RELATED: How to manage your passwords saved on Google

Disable Check your passwords popup on Chrome

How to disable ‘Check your passwords’ popup on Chrome

Step 1: Open Google Chrome on your PC.

Step 2: Tap on the 3-dot icon at the top right.

Step 3: Tap on Settings from the drop-down menu.

Step 4: Select Sync and Google services.

Step 5: Under the Other Google services section, toggle the switch adjacent to “Warn you if passwords are exposed in a data breach“.

This will disable ‘Check your passwords’ popup on Google Chrome and you will no longer be notified of exposed credentials when logging in to a website.

RELATED: